Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX fsck doesn't work - not even run? Post 302367779 by Morhoo on Tuesday 3rd of November 2009 12:27:59 PM
Old 11-03-2009
Error fsck doesn't work - not even run?

Hi,

please consider, I'm pretty new to HP-UX, thanks.

Our server (rp7420 with HP-UX 11.31) has crashed due to disk write error (not boot partition). So I replaced damaged device with the new one of the same size and performed dd copy 1:1 to restore data - vxfs partition "/dev/vg01/lvol1" mounted as "/data" and some raw devs. After reboot system wrote this error: "vxfs mount: V-3-21268: /dev/vg01/lvol1 is corrupted. needs checking". So I wanted to run fsck command to fix filesystem, logged as root, but to my surprise nothing happened. No error, no output, no result. Just like if it wouldn't run. I'm sure I was able to run fsck many times before and I tried many variants of parameters, no deal. Any suggestions how to fix FS without using fsck? Or better, how to repair fsck to run properly? Thanks for every advice.

Ondrej Ilek.

Quote:
root@rp7420:/usr/sbin> mount -a
vxfs mount: V-3-21268: /dev/vg01/lvol1 is corrupted. needs checking
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol8 is already mounted on /var
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol7 is already mounted on /usr
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol6 is already mounted on /opt
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol5 is already mounted on /home
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol4 is already mounted on /tmp
mount: /dev/vg00/lvol1 is already mounted on /stand
root@rp7420:/usr/sbin> fsck -m /dev/vg01/lvol1
root@rp7420:/usr/sbin>

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

run fsck on swap slice?

Hi.. i am using sun solaris...and this is the filesystem information... you can see th slice(swap) c0t0d0s1 is giving some absord information......and during rebooting it is asking to run fsck mnually..when i run fsck manually it is giving error incorrect starting and end header...smthing like... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Prafulla
1 Replies