Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting summing up iostat values in AIX Post 302366812 by mkastin on Friday 30th of October 2009 11:20:03 AM
Old 10-30-2009
Not the best way to do it, but it'll work....

Code:
$ iostat -d 2 2 | awk '{if(NR > 3 && NR < 6) SUM1 += $2; if(NR > 7 && NR < 10) SUM2 += $2 } END { print "iteration 1:" SUM1 "  iteration 2:" SUM2 }'

iteration 1:7.43  iteration 2:4.96

or

Code:
iostat -d 2 2 | awk '{if(NR > 3 && NR < 6) SUM1 += $2; if(NR > 7 && NR < 10) SUM2 += $2 } END { print SUM1 "\n" SUM2 }'

This is simple and won't loop for more iterations.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help wantyed to understand iostat -D in AIX 5.3

Hi, I am new to AIX and I am trying to look into a performance issue with an C-Isam based application that uses Asynchronous IO. I ran iostat -D to have a look at the disks and saw what seemed to be some big figures ocurring in the queues section such as waits in the service queue of 3.1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Harpo_HK
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Equivalent for iostat -e in AIX HP-UX Linux

iostat -e gives the soft, hard and transport error information in Solaris. What is the equivalent command in the other flavors of Unix AIX HP Linux. Thanks Prasi (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: prasi_in
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sar and iostat recommended interval/count values.

Hi, I got a request from a client to check on their server's cpu, memory and disk utilization. Am planning to use the sar and iostat commands to achieve this. The server is used for sending and receiving messages between the stockbrokers, so I was thinking to run the commands during the market... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: 60doses
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

summing values of a column