Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Moving files between directories using SFTP Post 302364857 by jgt on Saturday 24th of October 2009 08:25:53 AM
Old 10-24-2009
Presumably you are collecting data from one machine to process on another, and then wanting to delete the files on the remote machine to prevent their being processed the next time.
We have done this using a script like the following:
Code:
if [ ! -r ftp.input.data ]
then
   echo "ascii" > ftp.input.data
fi
echo "mget * >>ftp.input.data
cd newfiles
ftp ftp.com <ftp.input.data
cd ..
echo "ascii" >ftp.input.data
list=`ls newfiles`
for file in $list
do
process_file
mv newfiles/$file done
echo  del $file >>ftp.input.data
done

The syntax for sftp is slightly different, but you should get the idea

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash and Awk for creating directories and moving files

I have a security system that FTPs the camera files to my machine, however I want to sort the pictures (taken every 30s) into directories by hour. Every picture uses the following file format. yymmddhhmmsstt.jpg (where tt is the milliseconds) I am thinking the for loop is best for file... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kiint
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files out of multiple directories and renaming them in numerical order

Hi, I have 500 directories each with multiple data files inside them. The names are sort of random. For example, one directory has files named e_1.dat, e_5.dat, e_8.dat, etc. I need to move the files to a single directory and rename them all in numerical order, from 1.dat to 1000(or some... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: renthead720