Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: cat and output filename
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting cat and output filename Post 302364201 by Timmää on Thursday 22nd of October 2009 09:45:16 AM
Old 10-22-2009
cat and output filename

Hi,

how I can display a file with cat and printing the filename before each line.

e.g.
Code:
file1 {
one 
two 
three 
four 
five
}

Output:
Code:
file1:one
file2:two
file1:three
file1:four
file1:five

THANKS

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

unix cat gives no output

hi, i searched the forum, but found no thread relate to this; so sorry if it's duplicated. I'm using unix cat command but it gives no output. I check permission, owner and group; all of which are OK. I could do less and vi. any suggestions? thanks, (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: notvwatcher
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

cat file and parse output

Hello, I'm new to shell scripting and did a search on the forum to what I want to do but couldn't find anything. I have about 9 routers that outputs to 1 syslog file daily named cisco.year.mo.date.log ex: cisco.2009.05.11.log My goal is to make a parsing script that cats today's syslog... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjrambar
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cat files from subdirectories output using same filename

Hi, I need to concatenate data files with a .mp extension that are stored in directories by year. I want to keep the same filename as an output for example: for the file name p030.mp, which resides in the following subdirectories: /2000/p030.mp /2001/p030.mp /2002/p030.mp I want to:... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmshreve
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

inconsistent cat output