Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Doubt on free command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Doubt on free command Post 302363135 by user7509 on Monday 19th of October 2009 02:20:26 PM
Old 10-19-2009
Scrutinizer,

Your detailed explanation helps me a lot. Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Doubt in find command

Hi All, I wanted to list all the files in the current directory which contains the pattern "error". I tried the following grep command grep -i 'error' *.* but i got the error message "ksh: /usr/bin/grep: 0403-027 The parameter list is too long." Any idea why the grep didn't work? Note:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mona
3 Replies

2. AIX

doubt in cal command

I am new to unix... How to get all the saturdays of a specific year? for a specific month, i tried as below.. cal 02 2006 | awk '{print $7}' but it is not giving all saturdays.... can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance, Sumi (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumi
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

doubt in tr command

Hi, I am trying to understand a script and found a line as follows: tr '\211\233\240' '\040' < $IN_FILE | tr -cd '\11\12\15\40-\176' > $TEMP_FILE Can any one explain the above line .. What are they trying to translate using the tr command.. I have not used tr command.. so feeling little bit... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: risshanth
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Doubt with ftp command

Hi linux experts, I am using ftp command as : ftp hostname but it says unable to connect, if i am using the same in sftp it is working : sftp hostname it works. so please help me how should i use ftp command. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: salil2012
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command doubt