Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting BASH regex (convert from working perl version) Post 302361401 by radoulov on Tuesday 13th of October 2009 06:14:38 AM
Old 10-13-2009
Which bash version? If I recall correctly 3 and above offers support for regular expressions:

Code:
for v in 'ko=a|b' 'ok=0_/'; do
  [[ $v =~ ^[[:alpha:]]+=[./[[:alnum:]_-]+$ ]] &&
    printf '$v is ok: %s\n' "$v" ||
          printf '$v is not ok: %s\n' "$v"
done

The above outputs:

Code:
$v is not ok: ko=a|b
$v is ok: ok=0_/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Intern needing to convert bash to perl.

Hello All. I am very new to Linux and I am currently interning. I have been working on a project for a week and I have had no success. I have to convert bash shell into perl to decrypt and store files. Here is the code in Linux and Bash. Any help would be greatly appreciated. $... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: freak
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help! Need to convert bash shell to perl

Hello All. I am very new to Linux and I am currently interning. I have been working on a project for 2 weeks now and I have had no success. I have to convert bash shell into perl to decrypt and store files. Here is the code in Linux and Bash. Any help would be greatly appreciated. $... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: freak
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

***convert from perl to bash***

can any body translate the follwing script into one that works in bash? #!/usr/bin/perl # classify_books.pl my $csv_file = shift; my %categories = ( 'childrens' => 'childrens_books.txt', 'horror' => 'horror_books.txt', 'sports ' =>... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ferrycorsten73
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash with: if, elif & regex not working