Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to use a Shell Script for specific commands Post 302360604 by dr.house on Friday 9th of October 2009 12:08:37 PM
Old 10-09-2009
You got the idea (- mine, that is, as others will tell you that they know better Smilie).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to run unix commands in a new shell inside a shell script?

Hi , I am having one situation in which I need to run some simple unix commands after doing "chroot" command in a shell script. Which in turn creates a new shell. So scenario is that - I need to have one shell script which is ran as a part of crontab - in this shell script I need to do a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hkapil
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to run a few commands help!

Hi friends this is first post i am very new to shell scripting so i require your expertise to do the following thank u I need to write a shell script which will run the following commands pg_dump bank > backup(Enter) Wait for bash prompt to appear coz it indicates that the command is... (23 Replies)
Discussion started by: perk_bud
23 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get ascii value using shell commands/script

Hi gurus, Need command/code to get the ASCII value for a character say 65 for A and vice versa in shell script. Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kittu1979
2 Replies

4. Red Hat

how to write shell specific commands?

I am using Fedora 8,Red hat 9. Whenever we write a new command. Then we goto "/usr/bin" and then place this in this directory.And hence we can use it as a command anywhere from the terminal. We generally see commands like "trap" which run only in bash shell.We also have other shell specific... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nsharath
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Why can't embed commands like fg or bg in a shell script ?