Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Return all sub directories on ftp server Post 302357812 by thriftinkid on Wednesday 30th of September 2009 04:53:46 PM
Old 09-30-2009
Return all sub directories on ftp server

Hey guys,

I'm new to the programming world in general, and I only write in applescript so far. I am trying to find a shell script that will return a list of all the sub directories (or folders) within a directory on my ftp server. The server needs a username and password. I would assume the translation to applescript would be something like below:

Code:
set ftp_path to "/path/to/dir/"
set ftp_name to "username"
set ftp_pw to "XXXXX"
set ftp_server to "ftp.mywebsite.com"
tell application "Finder"
    do shell script "missing shell command"
end tell

Is this wrong?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

FTP return value

Hi guys, I am having a problem to determine if the FTP request I had was successful or not... Here is what I do: In a shell script I call another shell script to do the FTP like: #!/bin/ksh echo "Hello..." ... # call do_ftp.sh do_ftp.sh $SERVER $USR $PASS $FILE.... status=$? if ; then ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shaz
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

return ftp status

Hello, I still have problems when trying to figure out if the status of an ftp was successful. I ftp to different types (nt, vax, unix, etc...) of machines. I am trying to write a universal script that will ftp a file and then check to see if the ftp was successful. I have tried the... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: blt123
12 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP Return Code

Hi All, I have a problem to identify the error code thrown by FTP Server while uploading files. The message is : ftp return 32. I couldn't find out what is the meaning of that. :confused: OS is Sun Solaris 2.10. Anyone can help? Thanks a lot (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wilsonSurya