Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting writing the output of SQL into one file Post 302357793 by basher on Wednesday 30th of September 2009 02:51:43 PM
Old 09-30-2009
If your working on Unix/Linux you can use HERE Documents in a shell script, like this:

#!/bin/bash

( sqlclient user@password << EOF

Select count(1),Client_id from TABLE_A group by Client_id;
Select count(1),Client_id from TABLE_B group by Client_id;

disconn
EOF
) > query_op_file

If both the queries don't give desired output into the file, then get the output individually and then:

cat 2nd_query_op_file >> 1st_query_op_file (appends output of 2nd query to the first one)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Writing to a File using pl/sql

Hi I am new to using pl/sql on a unix platform and am having trouble writing to a file from within a block. Below is an example of the code that I have. I know that I need to use UTL_FILE to accomplish this; however, I keep getting errors. Can someone please help me? I am trying to create a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: stky13
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing output into different files while processing file using AWK

Hi, I am trying to do the following using AWK program. 1. Read the input data file 2. Parse the record and see if it contains errors 3. If the record contains errors, then write it into Reject file, else, write into usual output file or display it on the screen Here is what I have done -... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vidyak
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing sql results to file using ksh -nevermind

I'm having problems with writing my sql results to a file: sqlplus -S username/password@DB <<!! set echo off set verify off set showmode off set feedback off set timing off set linesize 250 set wrap off set pagesize 0 set newpage none set tab off set trimspool on set colsep... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: avillanueva
1 Replies