Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Complete Newbie requiring help Post 302356493 by snoops on Friday 25th of September 2009 05:29:43 PM
Old 09-25-2009
Complete Newbie requiring help

Greetings

Just joined this forum and a complete newbie. So please be gentle Smilie

I've never really scripted before nor had a project where I required to write some code. However I have a large project which I am currently doing by manually. I was wondering if someone could help me determine what scripting language to use and possibly help with assisting me with what needs to be done.

I have a file with entries in the following format

[some text.......RedHat]
rubbish text
more text

more text

[some text.......SUSE]
rubbish text
more text

more text

[some text.......Solaris]

What I would like to create is a script that takes arguments (in this case RedHat,SUSE and Solaris] and then searches a file. When it reaches the first argument it copies the entire section starting from [ and ending when it gets to the next [.

With each section, it replaces 'rubbish' with 'good' and it saves it to a file in the format <argument>.txt

Thank you for any help offered or advice offered.

Snoops

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Complete Newbie Question

I am in a test environment where i need to test several versions of UNIX, such as linux, solaris, SCO (ODT and Unixware). What i would like to know is there a universal way to work with the contents of a floppy diskette? I know some give you dos-like commands, but am looking for a way to access and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dpinion
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

complete newbie