Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Using AWK in a for loop
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using AWK in a for loop Post 302354100 by fredrik.aslund on Thursday 17th of September 2009 04:57:36 AM
Old 09-17-2009
sed 's/\*.*//' deletes everything from first * on lines Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

for loop in awk?

I am new to unix and have pieced together two scripts that work independently. The first checks all the filesystems and reports which are running low on space. df -m | awk 'int($4) > 75 { print $1 " has only " $3 "mb free from a total of " $2 ", this filesystem is " $4 " full! \n" }... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Bdawk
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk for-loop and NR

Hey, I know this is a stupid question, but it doesn't work. I have a file with 10 lines and I want to pipe the content to awk and then print line 1 til 2 into another file and then line 3-4 ... So my script looks like that, but doesn't work: cat grid_ill.pts | awk '{ for (NR=1;NR<3;NR++)... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: ergy1983
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparison and editing of files using awk.(And also a possible bug in awk for loop?)

I have two files which I would like to compare and then manipulate in a way. File1: pictures.txt 1.1 1.3 dance.txt 1.2 1.4 treehouse.txt 1.3 1.5 File2: pictures.txt 1.5 ref2313 1.4 ref2345 1.3 ref5432 1.2 ref4244 dance.txt 1.6 ref2342 1.5 ref2352 1.4 ref0695 1.3 ref5738 1.2... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: linuxkid
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - loop from a to z

Hello, I was wondering if it is possible to do a loop on letters rather than numbers with awk (gawk). Basically I used to do: echo "nothing" | gawk '{for(i=1;i<11;i++)print i}' But I would like to do something like that (which obviously does not work): echo "nothing" | gawk '{for(i in... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jolecanard
6 Replies