Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help with uniq -D [prepend]
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with uniq -D [prepend] Post 302353792 by eknryan on Wednesday 16th of September 2009 08:39:16 AM
Old 09-16-2009
Thanks Thanhdat!,
The uniq command worked a treat however the AWK prints a 5 line gap between replicate sets. Ive played about with it but cannot reduce this. I am using gawk, would this make a difference?

Is there any way of adding say a string with a count in each blank line i.e line1, line2,line3 etc?

Thanks again
Ryan

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Prepend name of directory to children folders

Hi, I am a shell scripting newbie. I am in need of a shell script that will prepend the name of the parent directory to the child directory. For example if the shell script called rename.sh is invoked with ">rename.sh /home/foobar/Simple" and the structure of the folder Simple is : Simple... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kalichar
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

prepend columns to a file

I have two files. File 'a' has contents: 1|1 2|2 3|3 4|4 and file 'b' has contents: abc|def hij|klm nop|qrs tuv|wxy I would like to prepend file 'a' to file 'b' (with pipe) such that the contents of 'b' will be: 1|1|abc|def 2|2|hij|klm 3|3|nop|qrs 4|4|tuv|wxy (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ChicagoBlues
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

prepend and append characters to the same line

Hi, I have a file 'tmp.dat' that contains the below data: 81763 40829 30405 80452 I want to prepend a ' character to the beginning of every line, and I want to append ', at the end of every line. Below is what I expect: '81763', '40829', '30405', '80452', Can anyone help me? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ChicagoBlues
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed prepend text ?