Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting splitting words from a string Post 302352926 by suresh_kb211 on Monday 14th of September 2009 04:43:45 AM
Old 09-14-2009
splitting words from a string

Hi,
I have a string like this in a file,
Quote:
USER=SYSUSER,SYSTEM,/users/suresh/log
I want to retrive the words separated by comma's in 3 variables. like
Quote:
usernm=SYSUSER
passwd=SYSTEM
logdir=/users/suresh/log
How do i get that.plz advice

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

string splitting

Hi, I have a string like 'xyz' and i want to to split the above string into letters for comparision purpose. any idea pls. cheers RRK. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi raj kumar
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting a string

Hi, I am new to shell scripting, Can any body suggest me how I can split a string with a delimiter as whitespace into words and store into a array. I have read a line from file, now I want to split the line into words and store in a array for further use. eg : the sky is blue want... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: smk
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting a string with awk

Hi all, I want to split a string in awk and treat each component seperatley. I know i can use: split ("hi all", a, " ") to put each delimited component into array a. However when i want to do this with just a string of chars it does not work split ("hi", a, ""); print a; prints... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pxy2d1
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl - Need help on splitting string

Let's say I have a very long string with no spaces but just words stored in $very_long_string. $very_long_string = "aaaaaaaaaaabbbbbbbbbbbccccccccccccdddddddddddd"; I can do this to split the string into 1 character each and store them in an array: @myArray = split(//, $very_long_string); ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: teiji
3 Replies