Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Computing data in awk
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Computing data in awk Post 302352355 by ubeejani on Friday 11th of September 2009 05:40:29 AM
Old 09-11-2009
Question Computing data in awk

Hello,
I am a newbie in programing. I want to compute the following in awk.
I have the following data file:

ID Value1 Value2 Value3
sade 0.21 0.45 23
foly 0.31 0.34 43
jude 0.40 0.11 63
jude 0.53 0.32 34
sade 0.67 0.49 66
foly 0.30 0.20 56

I want to take an ID “sade” , then take its value3 which is 23 and divide it with sum of value3 (23+66=89) like 23/89=0.258. then multiply it with value1 and value2 and then sum it.
For sade:
res=23/89
L1[ID]=L1[ID]+(res * 0.21)
L2[ID]=L2[ID]+(res * 0.45)

Now for the second “sade” record
res=66/89
L1[ID]=L1[ID]+(res * 0.67)
L2[ID]=L2[ID]+(res * 0.49)

Similar calculations for other IDs (jude,foly) as well.
Thank you so much for your help.
Regards,
Ubee

Last edited by ubeejani; 09-11-2009 at 09:30 AM..

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Cybersecurity

Trusted Computing

About a year ago, a friend of mine who worked on the OReilly Snort book took a propsal he and I had worked on for a book on Trusted Computing. Though the editor thought the content was good and worthwhile, he felt that there wasn't enough of a market to justify printing such a work. How many... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kduffin
0 Replies

2. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Event Cloud Computing - IBM Turning Data Centers Into ?Computing Cloud?

Tim Bass Thu, 15 Nov 2007 23:55:07 +0000 *I predict we may experience less*debates*on the use of the term “event cloud”*related to*CEP in the future, now that both IBM and Google* have made announcements about “cloud computing” and “computing cloud”, IBM Turning Data Centers Into ‘Computing... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Linux Bot
0 Replies

3. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Cloud Enabling Computing for the Next Generation Data Center