Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat error"warning: user owen does not exist - using root"? Post 302351905 by pludi on Thursday 10th of September 2009 01:54:43 AM
Old 09-10-2009
It's not a problem, it just means that when the source package was created, the files were owned by the user 'owen' on that machine. When RPM installs a package it tries to set the same owner, group, and permissions, and falls back to root when the owner or group are not found.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

error running COBOL - ".loader does not exist"

Hello. I am new to the unix environment. Currently, I am taking existing COBOL source code and attempting to compile and run on our new UNIX machine. I have succesfully compiled an object. When I try to run I get the follwing error: 0509-036 Cannot load program abeunix.o because of the... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: jbrubaker
16 Replies

2. Solaris

sendmail "root... User address required." error

I'm running sendmail (8.13.8+Sun/8.13.8/Submit) solaris 10. When I send mail to root at the command line (whether I use a full-qualified address or just root), I get the error message root... User address required. Sending mail to root (either at the command line or in a cron job),... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: csgonan
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Possible to give non root user sudo to "crontab -l"

Does anyone know if this is possible? I want to give some users access to root's crontab but only with a read privilege. Is this possible to do or can only root or people with full root sudo view root's cron? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: LordJezoX
4 Replies

4. Programming

how to simulate "mkdir -p /home/blah1/blah2/blah3" in "c" where only /home exist