Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat error"warning: user owen does not exist - using root"? Post 302351866 by fishwater00 on Wednesday 9th of September 2009 09:46:18 PM
Old 09-09-2009
error"warning: user owen does not exist - using root"?

I am trying to install openmotif22-2.2.3-18.src.rpm,

after I typed in " rpm -i openmotif22-2.2.3-18.src.rpm"

the following message comes out:

warning: user owen does not exist - using root
warning: group owen does not exist - using root

I am install openmotif under root account.

Do I need to use personal account? How can I fix it? Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

error running COBOL - ".loader does not exist"

Hello. I am new to the unix environment. Currently, I am taking existing COBOL source code and attempting to compile and run on our new UNIX machine. I have succesfully compiled an object. When I try to run I get the follwing error: 0509-036 Cannot load program abeunix.o because of the... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: jbrubaker
16 Replies

2. Solaris

sendmail "root... User address required." error

I'm running sendmail (8.13.8+Sun/8.13.8/Submit) solaris 10. When I send mail to root at the command line (whether I use a full-qualified address or just root), I get the error message root... User address required. Sending mail to root (either at the command line or in a cron job),... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: csgonan
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Possible to give non root user sudo to "crontab -l"

Does anyone know if this is possible? I want to give some users access to root's crontab but only with a read privilege. Is this possible to do or can only root or people with full root sudo view root's cron? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: LordJezoX
4 Replies

4. Programming

how to simulate "mkdir -p /home/blah1/blah2/blah3" in "c" where only /home exist