Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parse a line which has different word length Post 302351442 by cfajohnson on Tuesday 8th of September 2009 02:24:34 PM
Old 09-08-2009

If you are reading the line from a file:

Code:
read var_one var_two < "$file"

If it's already in a variable:

Code:
var="40609 39930"
read var_one var_two <<.
$var

Or:

Code:
var_one=${var% *}
var_two=${var#* }

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to parse the given word

Hi , i need to parse the dir /opt/net/Pro/inv/do/disc_001812 to get only dsic001812 . how to do the same using shell script. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: MuthuAlagappan
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl Parse Word Cksum help

Hi all, I'm attempting to parse through a .bin file word by word and perform a cksum on each word using perl. I'm new to perl so I dont exactly know how to get started. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: TeamUSA
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to parse a line and insert a word

Hi All, I have a file like this, data1,data2,,,data5,data6. i want to write a shell script to replace data3 with "/example/string". which means my data file should look like this . data1,data2,example/string],,data5,data6. Could you guys help me to get a sed command or any other command... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: girish.raos
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print word 1 in line 1 and word 2 in line 2 if it matches a pattern

i have a file in this pattern MATCH1 word1 IMAGE word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH1 word1 IMAGE word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1 word2 word3 word4 MATCH2 word1... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bangaram
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parse a String for a Specific Word