Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Need help with script.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need help with script. Post 302349990 by taekwondo on Wednesday 2nd of September 2009 12:57:54 PM
Old 09-02-2009
this is a small snippet Dan.

Illegal users from:
192.168.42.22 (impala.snas-net): 1 time

**Unmatched Entries**
pam_succeed_if(sshd:auth): error retrieving information about user henry : 1 time(s)

If I cat for illegal, I don't find out where the 'illegal' is coming from because the actual ip is on the next line. Or the next line, where I grep for unmatched but don't get the user Henry.

I'm fairly new to scripting or not very knowledgeable at this time. Thanks.

---------- Post updated at 12:57 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:50 PM ----------

Here is another sample of the log where I want to grab the second line following the line I grepped for.

sshd:
Authentication Failures:
unknown (impala.snas-net): 1 Time(s)
Invalid Users:
Unknown Account: 1 Time(s)

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

create a shell script that calls another script and and an awk script

Hi guys I have a shell script that executes sql statemets and sends the output to a file.the script takes in parameters executes sql and sends the result to an output file. #!/bin/sh echo " $2 $3 $4 $5 $6 $7 isql -w400 -U$2 -S$5 -P$3 << xxx use $4 go print"**Changes to the table... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: magikminox
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script will keep checking running status of another script and also restart called script at night

I am using blow script :-- #!/bin/bash FIND=$(ps -elf | grep "snmp_trap.sh" | grep -v grep) #check snmp_trap.sh is running or not if then # echo "process found" exit 0; else echo "process not found" exec /home/Ketan_r /snmp_trap.sh 2>&1 & disown -h ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ketanraut
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers