Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Compression and decompression in the same script Post 302349048 by jlliagre on Monday 31st of August 2009 02:46:35 AM
Old 08-31-2009
Please elaborate on what you are looking for.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Decompression utility

I am looking for an unzip application that can handle Unix .z files, but from a Windows environment AND has a command-line prompt. Anybody know of anything? TIA, H2M3 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: H2M3
2 Replies

2. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Decompression with Cygwin

I am having some trouble decompressing a tar.bz2 with Cygwin. Is it even possible to do this? I am new to Unix so I have no idea. I downloaded GCC on my Windows machine (gcc-3.4.4.tar.bz2) and I've been trying to decompress and install it. Is cygwin this best way to decompress on a windows... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: noob1021
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script - compression

Hello all, i am a complete beginner when it comes to unix and shell scripting. I want to be able to compress a file (ff) with a shell script for example the command would look like compress.sh ff then with the script have the file compressed using the zip, gzip and compress commands. I... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: noodlesoup
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

GNU tar automatic gz detection/decompression

I stumbled on this feature on a SLES10 system yesterday... if you tar tf filename.tar.gz or tar xf filename.tar.gz it automatically gunzips the data for you. Has this feature been around for a while? I have 1.12 on my system, which doesn't, but the 1.20 manual mentions it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Annihilannic
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Folder compression