Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers top output for a specific process to a file Post 302348614 by Bloke on Friday 28th of August 2009 06:45:23 PM
Old 08-28-2009
bump

@methyl: I'd be very interested in finding out how to do the same with ps for a specific process.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting my output to a specific file

Hi guys am doing some checking inside my script and i want to redirect my output to a specific file for example checking if a move was successfully done and was writing on the screen whether the move was successful or not and now want to write same thing into a file... I am new to shell... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lutchumaya
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

catpure output of 'top' in a file

#!/bin/sh echo `date +%F:%T` >> top.out echo `top -n1` >> top.out Hi all, i am trying to capture the output of the 'top' command in linux. when i run the command manually, it works. However, when i run it as a cronjob,the 'top' output is not being printed to the file,only the date is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: new2ss
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

capturing output from top and format output

Hi all, I'd like to capture the output from the 'top' command to monitor my CPU and Mem utilisation.Currently my command isecho date `top -b -n1 | grep -e Cpu -e Mem` I get the output in 3 separate lines.Tue Feb 24 15:00:03 Cpu(s): 3.4% us, 8.5% sy .. .. Mem: 1011480k total, 226928k used, ....... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

top output for six processes with the same name, output changed from column to row