Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting test script to identify SHELL Post 302347805 by vgersh99 on Wednesday 26th of August 2009 12:23:57 PM
Old 08-26-2009
Code:
#!/bin/sh

pid="$$"
echo "myShell->[`ps -o 'pid,comm' -p "${pid}" | nawk 'FNR==2{print $2}'`]"

YMMV - not generic

Last edited by vgersh99; 08-26-2009 at 01:30 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with test condition in shell script

I'm new to scripting and I need help with a bourn shell script. What i'm trying to do is a test condition where "if the time is within 2 hours, it's true" and so on. The time is in the following format DATE=`/bin/date +"%Y%m%d%H%S"` for example, 20060907152000. So, what the script first... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pieman8080
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test for shell interpreter at beginning of script

What would be the best way or method to determine or test for the shell interpreter at the beginning of a script in the event one shell is not available? If I use the following: #!/bin/bash and /bin/bash is not available, then use I'd like to use /bin/ksh if it is available. #!/bin/ksh (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: nck
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

-a test in shell script

I need clarification in -a test. If say, in test -a left expression is not present but the right expression is present, do the shell will consider the left expression true and evaluate the right expression? For example: if ] then rm -f ${file} fi Is this test condition... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jatanig
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to identify the number of files and to append data