Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting shell scripting best practices - trap command Post 302346852 by pludi on Monday 24th of August 2009 08:07:15 AM
Old 08-24-2009
There are 2 signals that I trap in almost every script: SIGUSR1 and 0. I use SIGUSR1 in long-running scripts to print a short status message instead of constantly cluttering the screen, an 0 (a shell-builtin signal meaning EOF) to collect all clean-up stuff in one function, instead of having to worry about it at every possible exit.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell scripting my own diff command

Hi I would like to run the diff command and recieve a little different output. I am on a linux machine. I am pretty new to shell scripting. So far my idea has shaped up to this, unworking, script. I would like file1: and file2: instead of the usual > or < output you recieve, diff | sed -e ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: axcxe
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Scripting Best Practices

Hi - I am new to this and was wondering if some of you can help me out. I am just starting to write scripts and need some guidelines on creating scripts. I'm calling them "Best Practices"...what should I do and not do when creating scripts. All I know so far is that I should avoid putting... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: toddjameslane
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Korn Shell Best Practices

I am new to ksh scripts (still reading manuals). I need to write an application that reads a multi-line parameter file, builds sql on-the-fly, runs plsql and saves the output in a specific format for further processing. I am looking for anything on Best Practices for building such an... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mtravis
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to use trap command in shell script