Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Can you run a unix script from a perl program Post 302346596 by durden_tyler on Sunday 23rd of August 2009 09:33:27 AM
Old 08-23-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwightja24
is there a way whereby i can call the unix script from the perl program ?
Yes, you can use backticks (accent-graves) to run a Unix script/command etc. just like you do in the Bash shell. Or you can use the system command.

Check:

Code:
perldoc -f system

tyler_durden

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

possible to run script to enter info within a program?

hi, I am new to Unix and script writing so I was wondering if this would be possible and how I might do it. I've learned to write a basic script and the first step I need to do is to open a program (for genetic linkage). The program then requires me to enter a lot of information. Sort of line... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lianderthal
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do i run a program while in Unix?....

Im new and wanted to know if im in the unix terminal and lets say i want to run microsoft word for example. i go in and go into the HD and then keep going and i type ls and see that microsoft word.app is there. how do i run it from that? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Corrail
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

want to run different files under the same program using shell script

suppose have different files 1.1 2.2 3.3 4.4 5.5 All the files have to run under the same command say tr -d '\n' so how to run all the files under the same command by using shell script (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cdfd123
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run shell program in perl