Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Number of files - in start of year Post 302343245 by jlliagre on Wednesday 12th of August 2009 03:50:07 AM
Old 08-12-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiling Dragon
But ctime is the creation time.
It isn't unless the file has never be modified.
"ctime" is defined as the last status change time. The creation time is usually not recorded on typical Unix filesystems, ZFS being an exception.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append value(batch number) to start of records

Hi all, I am new to unix shell scripting and I am trying to append batch number that comes in Trailer record to the detailed record. TR|20080312|22881 |000000005|20080319|2202 LN|20080312|077777722220 |0000100000017|ABS LN|20080312|000799439326 |0000709943937|AA TR|20080313|22897 ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiran_418
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

count the number of lines that start with the number

I have a file with contents similar to this. abcd 1234 4567 7666 jdjdjd 89289 9382 92 jksdj 9823 298 I want to write a shell script which count the number of lines that start with the number (disregard the lines starting with alphabets) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: grajp002
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

start line numbering with arbitrary number?

Hi, I want to do the following: Extract some lines from different files and copy them into one file, with the first column being the line number. I do this with cat file1 file2 file3 |grep 'xxx' |nl > output.file Works fine. But if I want to add data of interest from a fourth file to the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: paracetamol
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

The difference between end number in the early row and the start number in the next