Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Number of files - in start of year Post 302343169 by rajwinder on Tuesday 11th of August 2009 10:44:16 PM
Old 08-11-2009
Number of files - in start of year

Is there any way to find "Number of files" that exists on my solaris parition in the starting of 2009 year ?

I know ctime or mtime will not help and unix wouldnt store creation time.

Only hope i can see ( and i am not sure if that will help ) is that my system is up from last 2 years without reboot so any place in /proc where i can find this or any other idea ?

- Rajwinder Singh

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append value(batch number) to start of records

Hi all, I am new to unix shell scripting and I am trying to append batch number that comes in Trailer record to the detailed record. TR|20080312|22881 |000000005|20080319|2202 LN|20080312|077777722220 |0000100000017|ABS LN|20080312|000799439326 |0000709943937|AA TR|20080313|22897 ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kiran_418
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

count the number of lines that start with the number

I have a file with contents similar to this. abcd 1234 4567 7666 jdjdjd 89289 9382 92 jksdj 9823 298 I want to write a shell script which count the number of lines that start with the number (disregard the lines starting with alphabets) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: grajp002
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

start line numbering with arbitrary number?

Hi, I want to do the following: Extract some lines from different files and copy them into one file, with the first column being the line number. I do this with cat file1 file2 file3 |grep 'xxx' |nl > output.file Works fine. But if I want to add data of interest from a fourth file to the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: paracetamol
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

The difference between end number in the early row and the start number in the next