Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Expect question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Expect question Post 302342753 by peterro on Monday 10th of August 2009 04:23:27 PM
Old 08-10-2009
I think you'll want to use send_user instead of send for the "hmmm" message. ftp won't understand what to do with that command.

Code:
expect {
  "No such file or directory" 
    {send_user "hmmm\r" 
      send mkdir whatever_dir 
      send cd whatever_dir }
  "250 CWD command successful"
}
send put whatever_file

Not an expect expert, but I don't think you need anything after the final "250..." line as it will get what it expects, and moves on. Not sure if this is exact or the most efficient, but it should be close.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

question regarding EXPECT

I am rather new to using expect and have only written a few scripts using it. I am trying to create a script that will read a file containing a number of hostnames and then for each one: ssh into the box, run a command, scp the output back to a center server. So far I can make all that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: finnje
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

expect question

I am trying to write a script that telnets out to multiple ip's, runs some commands exits and the telnets to the next ip. I wrote the following script and it works great until the program hits a nonresponsive ip. I would like this to recognize the ip is bad and move on in the foreach loop. How... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pbaets01
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question about an expect script

I am using Expect to spawn a command that loops through a text file and runs the same command for each item in the text file. The text file, named stat.txt looks something like this: 2007-04 alist 543 2008-07 blist 543 2008-03 xlist 345 2008-03 ylist 675 2003-03 zlist 567 The expect... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: manouche
1 Replies