Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Expect question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Expect question Post 302342639 by stinkefisch on Monday 10th of August 2009 10:51:37 AM
Old 08-10-2009
Expect question

Hi all,

I have got a small expect script like this one.

#!/usr/bin/expect -f

set timeout 2
spawn ftp $env(IP)
match_max 100000
expect -exact "Name"
send -- "$env(USER)\n"
expect -exact "Password:"
send -- "$env(PASSWORD)\n"
expect "%"
send "bin\r"
expect "%"
send "prompt\r"
expect "%"
send "cd /etc\r"
expect "%"
send "do some commands blah blah blah\r"
expect "%"
send "cd /etc/init.d\r"
expect "%"
send "put file1\r"
expect "%"

if /etc/init.d does not exist file1 will be uploaded to /etc instead of /etc/init.d. How can I get expect not to upload file1 if /etc/init.d doesn't exist???????

Thank you very much

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

question regarding EXPECT

I am rather new to using expect and have only written a few scripts using it. I am trying to create a script that will read a file containing a number of hostnames and then for each one: ssh into the box, run a command, scp the output back to a center server. So far I can make all that... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: finnje
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

expect question

I am trying to write a script that telnets out to multiple ip's, runs some commands exits and the telnets to the next ip. I wrote the following script and it works great until the program hits a nonresponsive ip. I would like this to recognize the ip is bad and move on in the foreach loop. How... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pbaets01
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question about an expect script