Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: FTP question
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting FTP question Post 302341809 by BubbaJoe on Thursday 6th of August 2009 03:55:45 PM
Old 08-06-2009
change

Code:
mget $fname.tar

to

Code:
mget ${fname}.tar

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP question

Hi all, I have a simple script that runs each night and transfers a number of files to a remote server. Before files are transferred existing files on the remote box are deleted. All works OK except the deletion part on the remote box returning no such file or directory. As work around Ihave... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tzp2ft
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP Question

I am really new to unix and want to setup an ftp server on my PC I am running a Ultra 5 with solaris 9 on it. I cannot seem to find *any* documentation on how to do this. So I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction. :confused: (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ls=dir
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

FTP Question

Hi, I'm attempting to FTP several files using MGET. My problem is that I need to cd to a directory with this naming convention: YYMMDDHHMM - where the hour and minute is unknown When I issue cd /ftpdirectory/YYMMDD* from FTP, I receive "No such file or directory I need a way to get the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kdreaves
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FTP Question

When a user FTP's to their own directory, they can go up the directory and view others files, of course they can not overwrite them but are able to download them if they wish to, is there any way to stop them from view their files and have them be only able to view files that they have permissions... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: foresthillian
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

FTP Question