Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to grep all lines from a file NOT having a certain character Post 302341542 by ryandegreat25 on Thursday 6th of August 2009 06:25:04 AM
Old 08-06-2009
try..
Code:
awk '!/{/ {print $0}' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace a perticular character of all lines of a file

Hi all, I am new to UNIX, so sorry if my question seem stupid to u. well i want to replace the first character of first 30 lines of a file, only if the first character is h. and in anothe script i want to replace a particular string/character say hello/h of a file.Condition: It should... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abovais
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Validation of character separated lines in a file

Hi, I have a file with "|" separated fields. If the line doesn't contain n "|" (say 2), then put this line in a file called invalid_file.txt. If it does put this row in a file called valid_file.txt. For e.g. A file contain following rows: Hi|Hello How|Are|You Hello then invalid_file.txt... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kolesunil
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merging lines based on occurances of a particular character in a file

Hi, Is there any way to merge two lines based on specific occurance of a character in a file. I am having a flat file which contains multiple records. Each row in the file should contain specified number of delimiter. For a particular row , if the delimiter count is not matched with... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mohan_tuty
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

remove lines from file where > 13 occurrences of character