Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting BASH Shell script - help with read Post 302340995 by Justin Alvarez on Wednesday 5th of August 2009 12:06:24 AM
Old 08-05-2009
BASH Shell script - help with read

Hi all,

I'm sure this is quite a simple problem, but i'm completely new to shell scripting, so bare with me. Having problems with the read command. Here's what I have:

read -rp "Command to execute: " the_command
echo "$the_command"
eval "$the_command"

Now, say, for instance the user enters the command to execute as echo "this is a test" - all works fine... the echo shows the correct command and the eval executes the command, echoing "this is a test".

BUT... if the user enters the command as echo "this id a typeo" - they go back to correct the mistake so that it now reads echo "this is a typeo" - now the script errors. The echo shows the correct command, but the eval has a problem. Is it possible that the variable the_command is getting every keystroke (including backspaces) and not just the final string? Can someone please help out a newbie Smilie

Cheers,
Justin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to read double consecutive space in filename for bash shell

Hello, Im using cygwin app which we use the bash shell for scripting. Im trying to read a filename with consecutive spaces on the filename ex: filename<space><space>1.txt ls -lrt filename<space><space>1.txt is working but when I pull that from a file and place it into variable. it reads... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: james_falco
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use while loop in bash shell to read a file with 4 lines of gap