Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Trouble cutting characters into a string. Post 302339691 by Makaer on Friday 31st of July 2009 07:07:53 AM
Old 07-31-2009
Trouble cutting characters into a string.

I just have a couple of quick questions.

I am having trouble with this cut. I am basically trying to cut the string so that i can insert the users guess at the appropriate point in the string.
$letters is the character count of the $word.

What it seems to do is cut the character into the string but then extend the original mask instead of replacing it entirely.
Will i have to add an extra piece that allows me to cut from the first character in the string if that is where the guessed letter is?
Or is there a slightly easier bit of code that I am overlooking.

Thanks in advance.
P.S. I am very new to coding so it probably isnt the simplest way to do it, but I dont want to redo the whole function with syntax im not entirely sure of.

Code:
function replaceLetter()
{
for ((x=0;x<="$letters"; x++))
        do
wordLetter=$(echo $word | cut -c$x)

if [ "$guess" = "$wordLetter" ]

then
                newMask=$maskWord

maskWordTemp1=$(echo $newMask | cut -c-$x)
                        maskWordTemp2=$guess
                        maskWordTemp3=$(echo $newMask | cut -c$x-)

maskWordTemp=$maskWordTemp1$maskWordTemp2$maskWordTemp3
                maskWord=$maskWordTemp

echo "Correct $guess is in the word"

correct=true
        fi
done

if [ ! correct ]
        then
        lives=$(($lives - 1))
        correct=false
fi
                alreadyGuessed+="$(echo $guess | sort -u)"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cutting Up a String

I have a file name coming in as such <string>_YYYYMMDD.DAT The string could be anything. I want to cut out the date and put it in a variable. Can someone help me with this? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lesstjm
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting