Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sort and split file by 2 cols (1 col after the other) Post 302338689 by gch on Tuesday 28th of July 2009 04:21:32 PM
Old 07-28-2009
"cut" command maybe an alternative to awk way to split any file with fixed or variable lenghth fields and definable field separator.

Last edited by gch; 07-28-2009 at 05:28 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

join cols from multi files into one file

Hi Fields in Files 1,2,3,4 are pipe"|" separated. Say I want to grep col1 from File1 col3 from File2 col4 from File3 and print to File4 in the following order: col3|col1|col4 what is the best way of doing this? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vbshuru
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort & Split records in a file

Hi, I am new to scripting. I need a script to sort and the records in a file and then split them into different files. For example, the file is: H1...................... H2...................... D2.................... D2.................... H1........................... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sunitha_edi82
15 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find number of Cols in a file ?

Hi I have a requirement wherein the file is comma separated. Each records seems to have different number of columns, how I can detect like a row index wise, how many columns are present ? Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: videsh77
2 Replies

4. Ubuntu

Match col 1 of File 1 with col 1 File 2 and create a 3rd file

Hello, I have a 1.6 GB file that I would like to modify by matching some ids in col1 with the ids in col 1 of file2.txt and save the results into a 3rd file. For example: File 1 has 1411 rows, I ignore how many columns it has (thousands) File 2 has 311 rows, 1 column Would like to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: sogi
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users