Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Question about copying files in Solaris Post 302336204 by DukeNuke2 on Tuesday 21st of July 2009 01:52:10 PM
Old 07-21-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by seg
`find` is a great tool for this but in some cases `rsync` might be more effective. Your mileage may vary.
rsync isn't part of solaris... so i recommended find...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Copying a file from Solaris to Windows 2003 server

Hello, I am really new to solaris and I want to know the easiest way to copy a file from a solaris server to an Iomega NAS running windows 2003 server. Can I map the drive on the windows box so the solaris server can see it. Any advice would be appreciated. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: akula81
1 Replies

2. Solaris

SCP from one solaris box to another without copying links

I am doing a scp (directory)from one solaris box to another.The problem is that all links present in that directory also get copied .I do not want the links to get copied .currently I am using following syntax scp -rvp pcserver info@appudemo.sea.us.wam.net:/home/info I checked the man... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: u449064
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Copying Files and

I am new user to solaris and installed solaris operating system on full Harddisk 120Gb. I am unable to copy music files to desktop and /home directory. One thing happened while registering is- i entered login-root and its password. The message prompted your system is crashed. Is it because of... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: patilmukundraj
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

copying files

hi I want to copy all files from the current directory and move to .archive file. Moreover,I want to add .bak to each file name, that will be copied. How can I do that? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tjay83
4 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copying files unto a usb pendrive/external disk from Solaris 9