Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting HELP! Group by in shell script (awk/sed?) Post 302333984 by sncoupons on Tuesday 14th of July 2009 12:11:56 PM
Old 07-14-2009
HELP! Group by in shell script (awk/sed?)

Hello,

Could some expert soul please help me with this? I have following file format -

Code:
task             time
abc                5
xyz                4
abc                5
xyz                3
ddd                10
ddd                2

I need to generate output as -

Code:
task           min              max           avg
abc             5                  5              5
xyz              3                  4             3.5
ddd             2                  10             6

I am new to awk/sed and need help. I wrote followiing but that totals up instead of breaking down in min, max and average.

awk -F"|" '{arr[$1]+=$2} END {for (i in arr) {print i, arr[i]}}' datafile

Please help!!

Big Thanks in advance..

Last edited by vgersh99; 07-14-2009 at 01:40 PM.. Reason: code tags, PLEASE!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk/sed/ksh script to cleanup /etc/group file

Many of my servers' /etc/group file have many userid's that does not exist in /etc/passwd file and they need to be deleted. This happened due to manual manipulation of /etc/passwd files. I need to do this for 40 servers. Can anyone help me in achieving this? Even reducing a step or two will be... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pdtak
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script(Preferably awk or sed) to print selected number of columns from each row

Hi Experts, The question may look very silly by seeing the title, but please have a look at it clearly. I have a text file where the first 5 columns in each row were supposed to be attributes of a sample(like sample name, number, status etc) and the next 25 columns are parameters on which... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ks_reddy
3 Replies