Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search, replace string in file1 with string from (lookup table) file2? Post 302319064 by allrise123 on Saturday 23rd of May 2009 04:10:12 PM
Old 05-23-2009
hi guys!!

I am new to shell script.. i wanted to know abt sed command and how it work?

here is what i want do, i want to search original string in export.txt file which is:
export mibs =\opt\mymibs\

i want to replace it by
export mibs =\opt\new_mibs\

Please help with it

thanks in advance

Last edited by allrise123; 05-23-2009 at 05:17 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

string replacement using a lookup table

Dear all thanks for helping in advance.. Know this should be fairly simple but I failed in searching for an answer. I have a file (replacement table) containing two columns, e.g.: ACICJ ACIDIPHILIUM ACIF2 ACIDITHIOBACILLUS ACIF5 ACIDITHIOBACILLUS ACIC5 ACIDOBACTERIUM ACIC1 ACIDOTHERMUS... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: roussine
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search & replace fields from file1 to file2

hi, I have two xml files with the name source.xml and tobe_replaced.xml. Sample data: source.xml contains: <?xml version="1.0"?> <product description="prod1" product_info="some/info"> <product description="prod2" product_info="xyz/allinfo"> <product description="abc/partialinfo"... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dragon.1431
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to find string from file1 in file2

hi; i am looking for simple search script that find string from file1 in file 2 file 1 contain a loot of string like: 204080111111111 204080222222222 204080333333333 in each row and i would like to take the first row for example 204080111111111 from file1 and find it in file2 when it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kpinto
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

search from file1 and replace into file2