Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Procmail
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Procmail Post 302317571 by mojoman on Tuesday 19th of May 2009 10:30:44 AM
Old 05-19-2009
Procmail

Hi,

I have a few questions.

I am new to UNIX/Linux. At work I notice that our mail server uses sendmail. When I looked in the sendmail.cf file I see that it is using PROCMAIL as the Local Delivery Agent.

Questions:-
  1. I looked for /etc/procmail to see its configuration file but I see none. Is that normal?
  2. And the main question I have is how does procmail know where to deliver the mail? We have users on two partitions after all!
  3. When users loggin to this server to get email how does the email client know where to go?

I am fuzzy on understanding how mail systems work and could use some help.

Last edited by rbatte1; 07-05-2017 at 08:02 AM.. Reason: Set up formatted numbered lists

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Procmail Tutorial

Hello, Somebody knows a good procmail tutorial in the net? Thanks!:) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: luiz_fer10
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Procmail filter

Hello, I want to make a filter with procmail, using the day of the week ant the hour to filter the message. If the day is Tuesday, the message is redirected to one address. On the other days, the message goes to another address. The messages will be redirected at 8 am to 17 pm. I tried... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: luiz_fer10
1 Replies

3. Email Antispam Techniques and Email Filtering

procmail rule

I can tell this is not a recently active formum, but here goes, "why doesn't this procmail rule block messages with víagra or v1agra appearing in the subject header :0 * ^Subject:.*(víagra¦v1agra¦pénis¦prescripti0n¦Medicati0n¦M0rtgage¦Xanaxz) { LOG="(THE 7 DIRTY WORDS) " :0 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jones
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

procmail code help