Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting cd command doesn't work through variables Post 302312575 by manish6725 on Saturday 2nd of May 2009 01:43:43 AM
Old 05-02-2009
I am also new to shell scripting can you tell me ..
why are you using "\" in /Volumes/Backup\ vipin/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

command line work script doesn't

Hello, I'm stuck and confused as to why when I execute things form the command line it works but when in a script it doesn't. My script: ### creating a lock on the console touch /var/run/console.lock chmod 600 /var/run/console.lock echo "$User" >>... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: larry
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Command doesn't work under cron ?

I have defined in cron crontab -l >/FIXENGINE/data/crontab.$(whoami).$(date +%a) The resulting file is named crontab.fixadmin. When I run the above from a command line, the file is named: crontab.fixadmin.Tue (or whatever day I happen to be running) The question is - why do I get... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bigjohn-nj
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl variables inside Net::Telnet::Cisco Module doesn't work

I am writing perl script to configure Cisco device but Variables inside Net::Telnet::Cisco Module doesn't work and passed to device without resolving. Please advise. here is a sample of script: use Net::Telnet::Cisco; $device = "10.14.199.1"; ($o1, $o2, $o3, $o4) = split(/\./,$device);... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ahmed_zaher
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find command in shell script doesn't work

Hello all, Something strange going on with a shell script I'm writing. It's trying to write a list of files that it finds in a given directory to another file. But I also have a skip list so matching files that are in that skip list should be, well uhm, skipped :) Here's the code of my... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: StijnV
2 Replies