Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Login Shell
Operating Systems HP-UX Login Shell Post 302302175 by radoulov on Monday 30th of March 2009 09:30:35 AM
Old 03-30-2009
Code:
ps -p$$

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Standard login shell

Hello By default for root the login shell is /bin/sh. In the file /etc/passwd I changed it to /bin/bash. (/bin/bash does exists!) After I logged out and in again I still have /bin/sh as the shell and not /bin/bash. Are the more files to be edited? I am using SCO-Unix. I am thankfull for any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Fwurm
4 Replies

2. HP-UX

cannot login after changing login shell

Hello Everyone, I am a newbie in unix. I was practicing shell scripts on hp unix machine. I changed my current login shell (Korn) to Bourne shell giving the following command. $ chsh username /usr/bash I am using secure shell client for accessing the hp ux server. After which i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: hardesh
4 Replies

3. Solaris

How to get bash to be the login shell?

Is there a way to edit a .profile file that would let a user have bash as their login shell? We tried adding: exec /bin/bash --login to the .profile, but this produced an endless loop and we could not login using that account. Thanks! Aaron (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: amheck
8 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Can't login as SU anymore - SU: NO SHELL

the root shell has been changed in the file /etc/passwd, basically pointing to an incorrect directory. So now every time we login as 'su' I get the message 'su: no shell' so we can't login as superuser. Is there an easy way to rectify this? please use step by step instructions/commands - I... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: homechoice
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

login from a shell script?????