Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting remove extra spaces between fields Post 302297925 by zaxxon on Monday 16th of March 2009 07:16:57 AM
Old 03-16-2009
Code:
sed 's/[[:space:]]\{2,\}\|//g' infile
a b|sa df|3232|3
sf sa|afs sdf|43|33
a b c|adfsa dsf|23-32|23

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To remove the extra spaces in unix

Hi... I am quite new to Unix and would like an issue to be resolved. I have a file in the format below; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry Potter,5432 6730 0327 5469,0603,,MC,,1200,EUR,sho-001,,1,,,abc123,1223 I would like my output to be as follows; 4,Reclaim,ECXTEST02,abc123,Harry... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sho
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How can i remove spaces in between the fields in a file

Hey , I have a file and it's having spaces for some of the fields in it. Like the one below. I want to remove the spaces in them through out the file. The spaces occur randomly and i can't say which field is having space. So please help. Here is sample file with spaces after 5th field. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsravan
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove extra spaces in a line

Hi, I need a help in deleting extra spaces in a text. I have a huge file, a part of it is :- 3 09/21/08 03:32:07 started undef mino Oracle nmx004.wwdc.numonyx.com Message Text : The Oracle session with the PID 1103 has a CPU time ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikas027
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to remove extra spaces from a string??

Hi, I have a string like this and i want to remove extra spaces that exists between the words. Here is the sentence. $string="The small DNA genome of hepadnaviruses is replicated by reverse transcription via an RNA intermediate. This RNA "pregenome" contains ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanitham
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove blank spaces from fields