Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Sed Awk Cut Grep Combination Help ? Post 302294675 by radoulov on Thursday 5th of March 2009 03:54:51 PM
Old 03-05-2009
Use nawk or /usr/xpg4/bin/awk on Solaris:

Code:
awk 'NR == FNR {
  /Name/ && n = $2
  /Local State/ && _[n] = $NF
  /Total Connections/ && _[n] = _[n] FS $3
  next
  }
/content/ { c = $2 }
/service/ && $NF in _ {
  split(_[$NF], t)
  print "CONTENT", c
  print "Service", $NF
  print "What is the current State?", t[1]
  print "What is the number of Total Connections?", t[2] RS
  }' file1 file2

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed, grep, cut or combine?

I am a beginner at shell scripting, actually i am working on my first script right now. Anyway i have searched the world how to grep two letters from each word (it will always just be two words). For example: Example Blablabla I want my script to cut out Ex (from the first word) and Bl... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: maskot
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

cut sed grep or other?

Hi Is there a way to cut the last two characters off a word or number given that this word or number can be of varying length? I have tried something like TEST=`echo $OLD | cut -c 1-5` where $OLD is a variable containing a number like 1234567 which gives a result of 12345. This is fine... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rleebife
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cut in sed/awk

Hi Can i have an example where i should be able to cut columns (like for eg cut -c 1-3) in sed or awk. Regards Dhana (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: dhanamurthy
12 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk/sed solution for grep,cut