Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Get data from delimited file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get data from delimited file Post 302293351 by ashu_r2001 on Tuesday 3rd of March 2009 02:42:31 AM
Old 03-03-2009
Get data from delimited file

Hi,
I am quite new to shell scripting in Linux. Please help me in solving the given problem.

I have file called Data.txt
File "Data.txt" looks like
India|9990000|City
England|888800|London
Nigeria|9887766|uganda

I need to get the data after first pipe till second pipe into file modData.txt
The data in modData.txt should look like

Please help me

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting Tab delimited file to Comma delimited file in Unix

Hi, Can anyone let me know on how to convert a Tab delimited file to Comma delimited file in Unix Thanks!! (22 Replies)
Discussion started by: charan81
22 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Check whether a given file is in ASCII format and data is tab-delimited

Hi All, Please help me out with a script which checks whether a given file say abc.txt is in ASCII format and data is tab-delimited. If the condition doesn't satisfy then it should generate error code "100" for file not in ASCII format and "105" if it is not in tab-delimited format. If the... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mandab
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Export data from DB2 table to .txt file(space delimited)

Hi I need help on this. Its very urgent for me.. please try to help me out.. I have data in tables in DB2 database. I would like to export the data from DB2 tables into a text file, which has to be space delimited. so that I can carry out awk, grep operations on that file. I tried to export... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ss3944
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extracting a portion of data from a very large tab delimited text file