Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting get a name according to the 2nd field Post 302281224 by melanie_pfefer on Wednesday 28th of January 2009 11:47:08 AM
Old 01-28-2009
thanks.

so it is

awk '$2>200' /tmp/output | awk '{print $1}' | grep AAA | head -1
AAA

So that I get the first name that has a number > 200 (all these names have AAA in common, so I want to get rid of the first and last name)

do you suggest a more compact way to do this?

thanks again

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to change 2nd field

Hi I am a beginner to sed command, here I have a question about using sed to add a few characters into a token of a string. For example, I have a file, sqw:qqq:123124:uiqe dfd:ccc:12390:dfjis cde:aaa:21311:dfjsid and, I want the output to be, sqw:qqq:123124:uiqe... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Julius
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk to find duplicates in 2nd field

I want to find duplicates in file on 2nd field i wrote this code: nawk '{a++} END{for i in a {if (a>1) print}}' temp Could not find whats wrong with this. Appreciate help (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort alpha on 1st field, numerical on 2nd field (sci notation)

I want to sort alphabetically on the first field and sort in descending numerical order on the 2nd field. With a normal "sort -r -n" it does this: abc ||| 5e-05 ||| bla abc ||| 3 ||| ble def ||| 1 ||| abc def ||| 0.2 ||| def As you can see it ignores the fact that 5e-05 is actually 0.00005... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: FrancoisCN
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl sum 2nd field in an array