Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting any way to speed up calculations in bash script Post 302277196 by Corona688 on Thursday 15th of January 2009 03:40:15 PM
Old 01-15-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by npatwardhan
seemed like it was taking the difference but errored out..do i still need bc?
printf cannot subtract numbers for you, that's what bc is for.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Non-integer calculations in bash

I'm new at scripting but I thought I was getting pretty good at it. I've hit a snag. I try to use expr to compute a fraction say: expr 3 / 4, and I'm getting zero. I guess it's just truncating to the integer, in this case 0, but I need the decimal 0.75. What can I do to compute this value in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeriryan87
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed or awk script to remove text / or perform calculations from large CSV files

I have a large CSV files (e.g. 2 million records) and am hoping to do one of two things. I have been trying to use awk and sed but am a newbie and can't figure out how to get it to work. Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated - I'm stuck trying to remove the colon and wildcards in... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: metronomadic
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

calculations in bash

HI i have following problem, i need to use split command to split files each should be cca 700 lines but i dont know how to inplement it in the scripts becasuse each time the origin file will be various size , any body got any idea cheers (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kvok
2 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

data from blktrace: read speed V.S. write speed

I analysed disk performance with blktrace and get some data: read: 8,3 4 2141 2.882115217 3342 Q R 195732187 + 32 8,3 4 2142 2.882116411 3342 G R 195732187 + 32 8,3 4 2144 2.882117647 3342 I R 195732187 + 32 8,3 4 2145 ... (1 Reply)