Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting grep to show date/time of file the string was found in. Post 302269487 by woodstock on Wednesday 17th of December 2008 06:56:30 PM
Old 12-17-2008
Just the job

Thanks SFNYC. Just what I was after. Stick a “t” on the end & I can now see what happened to the numbers & in what order.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed

Hi, I am new to using Sed. I have a file containg lines like the following: INFORM----Test.pc:168:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. TRACE-----Test.pc:197:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. My requirement is to replace 10/11/05 12:34:26 with a string <RUNDATE> (including <... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hema_M
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep string but also it will show the next 5 lines

Hi experts, I want to grep a number 9366109380 from a file but it will also show me the next 5 lines. Below is the example- when i grep 989366109380, i can also see the next 5 lines. Line 1. <fullOperation>MAKE:NUMBER:9366109380:PPAY2;</fullOperation> Line 2.... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: thepurple
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Show date/time with tail|grep command

Hi, I have a log file without date/time, and I want that everytime tail|grep find something it displays the date/time and the line. I have tried something like this command but without any luck to display the date/time: tail -F catalina.out | sed "s/^/`date `/" | egrep ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: julugu
6 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions

Date comparison with 'string date having slashes and time zone' in Bash only