Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: alphanumeric Sorting
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users alphanumeric Sorting Post 302268145 by laxmi131 on Monday 15th of December 2008 05:52:30 AM
Old 12-15-2008
Hi radoulov,

Thanks for the reply,but i am not able to understand what the script is doing can you please expalin me .I am sorry i am new to unix hence unable to understand the above command

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sort command - alphanumeric

I have a file I'm trying to sort such as fred1 fred2 fred10 fred11 ... when I sort I get fred1 fred10 fred11 fred2 ... using sort can any give me the syntax to sort this is dict order e.g., (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gefa
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

alphanumeric comparision

I have a requirement where I need to check if where r1v07l09ab is a software release. I should always check for this to be true to continue the release deployment because an older release should not be deployed by mistake. I mean only the release greater than the current release should be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rakeshou
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting with non- and alphanumeric characters

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum and I'm not a UNIX expert. I can't figure out this certain problem i'm having: I need to sort some words, some of the words are annotations (enclosed within < and >). I need to have them sorted alphabetically with all non-alphanumeric characters up front. For... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fed.m.ang
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

get rid of non-alphanumeric characters

Hi! Could anyone so kindly help me a code to eliminate from a txt file, obtained by collecting and merge several web-page, every word (string) containing non alphabetical, numeric and punctuation character (i.e NON a-zA-Z0-9, underscore and punctuation mark)? Thanks a lot for the help to... (5 Replies)