Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Log File Writing and Reading
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Log File Writing and Reading Post 302261618 by zaxxon on Tuesday 25th of November 2008 08:21:51 AM
Old 11-25-2008
If $SESSIONLOG was empty or had nonsense inside, cat would tell something like "file not found".
You should also write stderr out to your log like:
Code:
sftp -b $SCRIPT $DESTUSERNAME@$DESTHOSTNAME > $SESSIONLOG 2>&1

If it is still empty, maybe put a -v for verboste to the sftp.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Reading and Writing file on LAN

Hi gurus I am not a C programmer but I need to read and write files on a computer on LAN using IP address. Suppose on a computer that has an IP 192.168.0.2 Any help or code example. I did in JAVA using URL, but do not know how to do in ANSI-C. In java: ------- URL url = new... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lucky001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Reading a file and writing the file name to a param file.

Hi All, Not sure if this would be in a dummies sectiin or advanced. I'm looking for a script if someone has doen something like this. I have list of files - adc_earnedpoints.20070630.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070707.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070714.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070721.txt... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: thebeginer
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

reading ,writing,appending ,manipulating a file.

Hi my prob statement is to create a new file or to append to the 1tst file the followign chages. File 1: txt file. portfolio No a b c d abc 1 Any Any Any charString cds 2 values values values charString efd 3 can can can charString fdg 4 come come come charString... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: szchmaltz
4 Replies

4. Programming

I need help with file reading/writing in C