Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading each line of a file in perl script Post 302200459 by nua7 on Thursday 29th of May 2008 08:10:19 AM
Old 05-29-2008
Check if this helps...

Code:
TEST = "test.txt";
open(TEST) or die("Could not open log file.");
foreach $line (<TEST>) {
    chomp($line);              # remove the newline from $line.
    # do line-by-line processing.
}

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

perl - file reading - last line not displayed

Hi, Here is something that am trying with perl #! /opt/third-party/bin/perl open(fh, "s") || die "unable to open the file <small>"; @ch = (); $i = 0; while( $content = <fh> ) { if( $i <= 5 ) { push(@ch, $content); $i++; } else { $i = 1; foreach(@ch) { (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: matrixmadhan
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with perl script while reading a file

Hi Everyone, I am very new to perl, but came across a situation wherein I have to read a c++ header file and write the datatype, its identifier and also the length to an excel file. There can be other header files, in the directory but I should browse through the file which has only "_mef:" string... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ramakanth_burra
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Problem in reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line

So, I want to read line-by-line a text file with unknown number of files.... So: a=1 b=1 while ; do b=`sed -n '$ap' test` a=`expr $a + 1` $here do something with b etc done the problem is that sed does not seem to recognise the $a, even when trying sed -n ' $a p' So, I cannot read... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hakermania
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

SOLVED: reading config file in a perl script