Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Gentoo automating chroot and mount/unmount Post 302199480 by sysgate on Tuesday 27th of May 2008 03:15:22 AM
Old 05-27-2008
No, proc is separate file space, and usually lots of information is being written there. Why do you need to un-mount it ? Try < -f > flag, for force.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

chroot?

If i were to create a new user for my ftp would chroot be the proper command to set there root directory as the file i've put all my FTP stuff in? Also would that jail them, or would they beable to get out of the set directory? (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: byblyk
0 Replies

2. AIX

how do i unmount ?

hi all, I am new to AIX as well as UNIX also ,i have a question One of my program has created a new filesystem on the system..... df shows : /dev/fslv04 2031616 2030648 1% 3 1% /replicas/source when i tried to umount the above filesystem by umount... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vamshi_k
3 Replies

3. Red Hat

Unbale ot mount chroot /sys/image

Hi frds i need ur help on this..! I am using redhat 9.0 recently someone has messed with mine filesystem and anyhow managed to hide mine linux partition both hd0,0 and hd0,1 ..!This is sick..i got mine Xp partition also hidden by this. I tried booting with linux rescue disk..but fail to mount to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nicknihal
2 Replies

4. HP-UX

Cannot unmount mount points??

When taking a snap, I have a script that stops any active snap. When running the script, I'm getting a message that u02 and u04 are already mounted. How can I find out what process(es) is/are latching on the these mount points? Thank you for your time. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: genzbeat
1 Replies

5. HP-UX

/usr out of disk space need to unmount/ expand volume /mount