Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Sunsolaris shell script runs only as super user Post 302193419 by fabtagon on Friday 9th of May 2008 08:20:56 AM
Old 05-09-2008
pretty obvious:
Code:
ksh[line]: awk: not found

Your $PATH environment variable as normal user does not consist of the directory where your awk resides. What give "which awk" and "echo $PATH" as superuser? What gives "echo $PATH" as normal user? Add the missing dir to normal user's $PATH.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script: want to insert values in database when update script runs

Hi , I am new to linux and also also to shell scripting. I have one shell script which unpacks .tgz file and install software on machine. When this script runs I want to insert id,filename,description(which will be in readme file),log(which will be in log file) and name of unpacked folder... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ring
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script using awk works only as super user

hi friends, I am a new Sun Solaris 10 user. I have the following script line=$(awk '{if(substr($0,1,1)!="#" && substr($0,1,1)!=";" && substr($0,1,1)!=" " && substr($0,1,1)!="/" && substr($0,1,1)!="*" && substr($0,1,1)!="\\" && length($0)!=0) ... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: gjithin
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do i change to super user then revert back to ordinary user ,using shell script?

Hi all, I am trying to eject the cdrom from a livecd after certain stage... Now assuming that it is possible to eject,please consider my issue!!! The OS boots into a regular user by default...so i am unable to use the eject command to push out the drive... However if i try pfexec eject it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script which runs sql script