Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting need assistance ----SH schell script Post 302169439 by shahidbakshi on Thursday 21st of February 2008 10:06:42 AM
Old 02-21-2008
MySQL need assistance ----SH schell script

Hello All,

I need to develop a script(SH]) to generate a comparison file between two files old and new file.The script takes in parameter the old file path and the new file path. And the script generates a file containing the comparison between the two files with this details:

- Keys added on the new file (key=value)
- Keys modified on the new file (key=value)
- Keys deleted on the new file (key=value)

key column is the 4th one and value column is the 6th one in the sample file.

Example:

old file: key1,value1 new file:key4,value3
key4,value4 key6,value6

output file: comparison file
------------------

1> keys added ----- key6,value6
2>deleted ---------- key1,value1
3> modified---------- key4,value3

I'm new to schell scripting field. request you to explain briefly along with the code. any sort of assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Regards Shahid.Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

writing schell scripts

I am very new to Unix. I need to write a script that will grep some files, etc. When I write the script, do I need to know what shell I am using? If so, how do I do that? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ssmiths001
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating reports using shell schell script

please advise..very urgent. purpose of my script is that it should generate a report by running a sql script which is stored in a directory and pull the information from DB.script shld be in such a way that I just need to pass a parameter and it shld generate the report and store it in a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: complicated
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help(sh script)--schell scripting